My Final

Because of the content of the book I wanted the book itself to be simple, yet elegant. I originally went with a more standard bound book. However, after the first mock-up i wanted something a little more interesting and inventive. The story itself is a man looking down onto his deceased father lying in a coffin while remembering his best memory of his father. Because it has these two stories happening at the same time I decided to make my book a dos-a-dos.

The part of the story that happens at the funeral is basically an interior monologue of the man describing his father. So what I ended up doing was copying that part and putting just that in the front of the dos-a-dos. I think the monologue almost becomes a poem without the rest of the story. Also, out of context, it is very cryptic which i hope causes the reader to want to flip the book over and read the full story.

My most successful aspect of the book is the cover and spine. My original idea was to use an actual baseball cover as the spine and use a satin type paper on the cover to represent the coffin and the funeral. The real baseball idea quickly died. However I used a book cloth which felt fairly similar to a baseball. Besides that I really went with the original idea of the red satin cover with the baseball as the spine and it worked well.

Mostly where I failed was just in the things I didn’t do. I was satisfied with the simple concept of the book but I wished I could have pushed the form a little further. Everything I thought or tried to add felt forced, so eventually I kept the simple concept.

For the main text I went with a simple, basic type face because I wanted that part to look like a standard essay. For the front text I went with a more antique-looking type-face. I thought by doing this the front text would look more elegant while the back remained standard.

The name of the story is My Pitcher’s Mound. I went with the name because the mound is the central object of the story. It’s the object in the protagonist life that he associates with his childhood and his father.

Leave a Reply

