Bill of Fare: Second Progress Report

The second mockup was an overall success. I began by identifying and constructing the materials I would need. For the final menus, I will need the following totals and dimensions:

  • 6 pieces of binder board 6.5” x 11.5”
  • 3 pieces of chipboard 6.5” x 11.5”
  • 6 pieces of binder board 1” x 11.5”
  • 12 pieces of sketch-paper 7.5” x 11”
  • (insert) 3 pieces of sketch-paper 7.5” x 11”
  • (endpapers) 6 pieces of black cardstock 7.5” x 11”
  • 6 pieces of tracing paper 7.5” x 11”
  • 6 pieces of artist paper 10” x 14”
  • 12 fasteners

I assembled the cover with the insert by lining up where I wanted the title and cutting out the rectangle. I had the front cover glued before I realized that I had messed up my original measurements – I cut the binder board to the same size as the pages. I forgot about the spine. A quick cut of the knife reduced the size to where I wanted it, but I accidentally also made it ½ in skinnier than I wanted. This will be fixed in the final copies.

Thankfully, printing on the tracing paper for the first/last pages worked (thanks, Saralyn!). Once I knew that the mechanics of everything was possible, I set about finishing the text, including the food descriptions, colophon, and writer’s bio. I also added a few more old-timey glyphs. Note: The bio came out more like a Thank You or Acknowledgements page, but I hope this is okay.

Printing and assembly was a cinch. The text came out nicely, and the black aluminum (3/8”) fasteners I purchased look nice. I changed the stab-bound from 3 to 4 holes. Thanks again to Meredith for letting me borrow the Italian hole-puncher thing. In general, I think the shape and tone of the book reflect my intentions for the project. I should have no problem completing the final three books according to schedule. The cutting and gluing of the covers takes the longest.

I’ve thought a little bit about how I would price these menus, although I don’t wish to sell them. Personally it breaks down for me:

  • Binder board = $10
  • Chipboard = n/a
  • Sketch-paper = $10
  • Endpaper = $5
  • Tracing paper = n/a
  • Artist Paper = $10
  • Fasteners = $25 (after shipping)

Total = $60 / 3 = $20 per book.

I would probably sell them for $35 – $40 – the price of a fancy dinner!

Leave a Reply

