video reaction

Overall I thought the lecture was very interesting. He seemed very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about bookmaking. Of course the ukulele was funny and the stories about the bus tour were entertaining. I really liked that he was so adamant about the future of book making. I’m glad to see that book art is getting the recognition it deserves and that he believes it will continue to grow in popularity. I believe it is a legitimate canvas for someone looking to create something original.

My only problem with the lecture is the discussion of art vs. craft. Again, I’m not sure why it matters or why anyone cares. I don’t, and probably never will, understand why people seek validation through terms like art or creative. If the people within the community who appreciates it understands its worth who cares what other people label it. Also I’m not entirely sure why art is more important than craft anyway.

Leave a Reply

