Poker? I hardly know er!

Midterm Proposal
Dustin Fisher

My book is going to incorporate two different styles we have learned thus far, the accordion fold and the Turkish fold. There will be four pages in the shape of a club, diamond, heart and spade, with static pages on the front and back for the title, copyright and colophon.

Instead of a work of poetry or prose, I hope to incorporate four quotes from four very diverse writers about poker. I’ve already found this from Mark Twain:

“There are few things that are so unpardonably neglected in our country as poker. The upper class knows very little about it. Now and then you find ambassadors who have sort of a general knowledge of the game, but the ignorance of the people is fearful. Why, I have known clergymen, good men, kind-hearted, liberal, sincere, and all that, who did not know the meaning of a ‘flush’. It is enough to make one ashamed of one’s species.”

I have found other quotes about poker by Terry Pratchett, Ambrose Bierce and Stephen Wright. I have chosen this subject because I have very much enjoyed stretching the Turkish fold art form beyond what I’ve been taught. When my first assignment – a multi-page Turkish fold – was looked upon by our teacher with borderline astonishment (or at least as something new), I figured I’d try to blaze another trail. This time, I will be incorporating an accordion fold so that all four designs may spring to life at the same time facing the same direction and I’ll be pushing the boundary of the shape of the accordion fold. I’d like the subject material to echo the design and something about poker or cards seemed appropriate. But the subject matter was honestly secondary to the design, which is what I feel like this class is about anyway.

My materials will be very cheap and easy: Xerox paper, cardboard (the weight of a cereal box), glue, printer ink and paint. I have all these items in enough quantity already (with the exception of cereal boxes, but I’ll eat more as needed), so the cost will likely be free. My schedule for production is as follows:

Thu, 2/21: Start mockups of individual pages in inDesign
Sun, 2/24: Start measuring out covers to gauge materials
Tue, 2/26: Complete individual page designs; print out mockup copy
Wed, 2/27: Put together mockup (gluing, painting and taping covers; write progress report
Thu, 2/28: Present mockup in class; ask for feedback on design and technique
Sat, 3/2: Make any changes to page design; print and fold 10 copies
Sun, 3/3: Cut out cardboard for 10 books; paint covers
Mon, 3/4: Bind books together
Tue, 3/5 – Wed 3/6: Make any adjustments; fix any errors
Thu, 3/7: Present books in class

Leave a Reply

