Pablo’s Dirty Book of Sexy Sex

For my midterm project, I would like to do a combination case-bound accordion book and pop-up/tunnel book for the poetry of Pablo Neruda. He is a very image-driven poet, so I think the graphic nature of the pop-up book would go well with the subject matter. The poems I have chosen are “Carnal apple, Woman filled, burning Moon,” “I crave your mouth, your voice, your hair,” and Sonnet XXVII. These poems are especially sexual, and I love the idea of combining a traditional children’s book form with erotica (because I’m a deviant, I guess).

The basic set-up of the book will be as follows:

Image

It will be a hardcover book, 12×12 inches. A square book connotes coffee table books, the kind that are opened and interacted with, and that’s what I want for this book. There will be three main “accordions” that will present a poem in its scene, represented above by the solid lines. Each accordion will have two pages inserted (represented by the dotted lines) and strategically cut and carved out so that I can create depth in each scene, such as an apple in the foreground, a table in the middle, and an unmade bed at the back page of the scene, with the poem written on the apple, etc. I haven’t completely decided how I want to depict each scene, though I do have a lot of inspiration from the poems. The accordion style will help reinforce my paper to keep the scenes sturdy.

The books will be constructed from heavyweight paper from the MICA store and finer, thinner decorative papers, some of which I have already, and some of which I will find at the MICA store, Plaza, and Artists and Craftsman Supply. I have a number of the materials already, like glue, box cutters, scrap papers, etc, so planning a price point is rather difficult. I would say I will need one 18×24 sheets of heavyweight paper for each accordion, so 3×10= 30. Annnd because I’m a broke college student, I will be searching for ways to produce this book as economically as possible. I’m setting my budget at $35, because it will challenge me to create the scenes out of found materials and scraps of paper I already have.

My plan is to use my time this weekend to gather materials, Friday and Saturday morning to shop at the MICA store and Artists and Craftsman Supply. Then Sunday, I will begin production, and finish on Tuesday. This will allow any panic-mode adjustments to be made Wednesday and Thursday morning before class. For production of the ten good copies, I will need to finish the first weekend of March, because the entire next week I will be in Boston for AWP, so time is NOT on my side. Really, my main efforts will be this weekend and during the week next week, because I hate putting off big projects. (Writing essays and blog posts, obviously, I wait until the last minute, but I know my own clumsiness, and creating a book takes time, so I won’t be wasting it!)

Leave a Reply

