Found: How much for that kitty in the window?

When I started the concept process of this book, all I could think about was how cool Ian’s “Dog Ate My Homework” Book and I knew I wanted my new book to be more of a sculpture and not just paper with two covers. I thought about the book forms we learned this week and which one really lent itself to the word “Found.” I have to say the venetian blind book was my least favorite, especially the one with the strips of paper you have to arrange. And so far it’s been that my least favorite book is always the one I’m drawn to make (like the serpentine book last week). So what can I do with venetian blinds and the word “Found”? All I could think of was the cat we used to own and how she’d hide behind the blinds.
This thought inspired an idea for a short short story about a woman who is looking for her kids’ cat to take it to the vet. This is where Ian’s dog pushed my creativity. I wanted to make blinds that you could pull up and reveal a cat.
The concept met reality fairly smoothly. Because the paper I used was about 9”x12” flimsy paper, I ended up having to poke a third hole in the middle so the blinds wouldn’t sag.
There are always things I wished I had thought of before starting the project: I would have liked to make the entire book out of found items. I didn’t go out and buy anything specifically for this project. And technically, all the items I used, I found around my apartment or at my parents. But it would have been cool to make the cat out of “lucky pennies” or string/ribbon I find never throw away.
Halfway through the project, I really, really wished I hadn’t used regular paper. It’s so boring and overdone. I’m trying to push myself in defining what it means to be a book, using different materials and styles. But I was concerned another type of material (like a paper bag) wouldn’t hold up or fall right as blinds, so I chickened out and went with white–boring–paper from my sketch book.
Overall I like the way the book turned out. I wish I had had more time with it, but I’m happy with what I could do with a week.
A note on hierarchy: I’ve struggled with hierarchy in the past with designing posters. I think because this book is 3D, the hierarchy just flowed without my thinking about it. There are curtains you have to open. Then your eyes are drawn to the red words on the blinds. You have to pull up the blinds to see the cat. And there is a wind cut into the back of the book, behind the cat. You are forced to follow a certain pattern, as opposed to 2D where it’s necessary for the designer to guide your eyes.

Leave a Reply

