Vertical All the Way Around

 

By Tracy Hauser

Ive been wrestling with this story that I really liked, but that didn’t go anywhere.  In it was this girl that I could relate to, and she traveled all over.  In my fiction class last fall, I got a lot of complaints that her character was “lost” and that she didn’t really seem to mind, or I guess that I made her lost and that I didn’t seem to mind.  So since I’ve been thinking about her a lot, and re-writing her, I decided to make her found in some way.  At the end of my story she winds up meeting up with her dad at a theme park way up in northern Oklahoma.  I’d heard of the theme park that she wound up going to , but I’d never been there.  When I did research on it I got really into all the names for their roller coasters, and so I added them in too.  The character of Suzy’s dad, the girl in my story, was modeled after this friend I used to have, but don’t see around anymore.  He was so nice and eccentric but he moved.  I guess I sort of thought it’d be cool to find him in an ambient fiction narrative, pay tribute somehow.

I decided therefore to make a book of the window out of which Suzy sees her dad pull up in front of her trailer.  I decided that the vertical blinds piece would fit this idea.  So I folded pictures with clear plastic over an amusement park-like landscape.  Then I folded rusty rectangles on the other vertical side for effect.  When you look at the blinds from one side, you can see out the window of Suzy’s trailer, and when you look at the other side, you can see her vertical blinds blocking the outside.  On the other side is a picture of her room, some lamps and a bed, and more clear plastic over it to act as a window.

2 comments
  1. meredithpurvis said:

    You did a nice job with this concept, and I think it’s great that you pushed the vertical blind book to work harder with its optical illusion. I also loved that you brought in some non-traditional materials with the plastic–it can be tricky to figure out at first, but can really pay off nicely once you figure it out. Nice job!

    • When a Third World Came West said:

      Oh thank you so much! I appreciate the feedback. Yeah I really liked blending in the theme for the verticals from something that I wrote previously because I default to thinking about past stories. I can already look ahead to seeing how the messages could come across more readily towards readers by using these book making techniques. Thanks a heap!!

Leave a Reply

