FOUND Family

“One snowy winter night in Chicago back in 2000, Davy went out to his car and found a note on his windshield — a note meant for someone else, a guy named Mario.” This note inspired the creation of FOUND Magazine: http://foundmagazine.com

FOUND Magazine is the inspiration behind my book this week. From a young age, I have been a collector of found things – old toys, calendars, writing, and (most of all) photographs. My collection has been gathered from flea markets, antique malls, and walks around the city. These items give “a glimpse into someone else’s life,” as FOUND Magazine puts it. This glimpse can be sweet, funny, or disturbing, but always vague and incomplete. I have used many of my finds as inspiration for art pieces, sometimes actually making them part of the collage/painting.

For this week’s assignment I have made a FOUND family album from my collection. The photos I chose have two reoccurring characters (based on writing on the back of the pictures) named John and Robert. It also includes multiple photos of family cemetery plots. Why they mixed childhood family photos in with cemetery plots, I don’t know. That is part of the beauty of FOUND images! I believe most or all of these photos came from a trip to the Fells Point antiques shop back in 2005 or earlier.

I chose the Matchbook binding because it is very similar to the small photo album that some of the photos came in. Also, the photos are old and warped, so the cover helps to hold them flat. The size of the photos dictated the page and cover dimensions. I kept the cover and binding very simple and stark, which I think is inline with the scenes in the book (especially the cemetery shots). I also created my own brief handwritten captions for each photo.

1 comment
  1. meredithpurvis said:

    This book turned out so nicely! The natural contrast between the images of the children and the gravestones is jarring, even though they clearly “fit” together, and your binding does a nice job offsetting that. Well done!

Leave a Reply

