Lost Book (Drew Robison)

The word “LOST” immediately conjured up mental images of maps in a book like an old atlas. Originally, I thought it would be cool to make an antique-looking map of an ancient civilization wrapped up in a scroll. I wasn’t quite sure how this might qualify as a “book” exactly so I tried to broaden the idea to include the Turkish Fold and I changed the theme to space. I think I did this because space is the new frontier (of media and literature), and we don’t use maps in the quite the same way when star-gazing. I soon realized it isn’t actually as easy as you might think to find a square map of the stars (most of them are circular), and I wanted the map to fit the frame of the page. Eventually, I found a simple version of what I was looking for.
Then, I selected some paper from my stacks. I stuck with the antique-theme. I used some marbled brown paper for the inside and an off-black cardstock for the cover. For the cover title, I cut out the letters from the cardstock and glued white paper behind it. I wrote my name in black sharpie, and I think the white/black/off-black combo has a cool effect. On the inside, I pasted the words “How do you get from here…to…there?” in white text on black paper as a reflection of a question my book might ask. The Turkish fold is quite simple if you keep the folds straight, and I saw there are some cool, more complex variations of it (from  doing some research online).
I like the final product because it mixes the classical and modern styles I couldn’t decide between. The look and feel of the old page contrasts with the astrological names of stars and the modern cover. If I could improve it, I would have used more distressed-looking, antique-style paper. Regarding the text, my intention wasn’t for this book to state anything declaratively. I guess I went with the poetic approach because you’re more likely to ask a question like this when you’re lost.
Posted on behalf of Drew Robison. 

 

1 comment
  1. meredithpurvis said:

    Your book came together nicely, and it’s good to see you thinking about how you could make it even better. These weekly assignments are small, but they have the potential to be refined beyond what we do with them in class.

Leave a Reply

