Beautiful Traditional Hardcover Books

I’m really intrigued to learn more about the different types of stitching for hardcover books so I wanted to find a couple different examples.

This one I found from a search for case binding (I’ll include the link below too, because she has a few other photos of the process and the final project). The artist is Beth Antoine. I like the touches of the ribbons (I’m not 100% sure if the material exactly ribbon), especially since I’m hoping to do a tie at the end on my midterm project book. I also like that the covers are longer than normal and fold in to the center. I think the outside cover is made of vellum (can’t get much more traditional than that) which must have a nice feel to it”

The other one book I found uses a single needle chain stitch which is apparently similar to coptic stitch. I like that you can see the binding on the outside, the wooden outside covers with the pretty blue colors, and that the inside pages are all different pages. I think the colors of the inside pages are what really make the book. The blog I found it on only identifies the artist as Shelly.

Shelly has written out instructions for how she bound this book. She entitled it “Little Boats” and describes it as “140lb Cartiera Magnani hot press watercolor pages, pre-painted with acrylics, bound with waxed linen thread
3 x 3 1/2 inches.”

Somehow the links didn’t go through. Here they are:

http://bethantoine.com/book_models/limp-vellum.php
http://cat-sidh.net/Tutorials/Binding.html

1 comment
  1. The second one is really cool Megan. You crack me up with all of your talk about different stitches. I imagine that you are very proficient at the sewing part of this class. I am not.

Leave a Reply

