More Brian Dettmer

There’s a phone book from 2011 sitting in the entrance of my apartment. It still is wrapped in plastic and every time I walk by it I can’t help but wonder who uses a phone book anymore. I even doubt the medium. A phone book used to seem so complete. It had the most up to date contact information on everyone. But now I think of how many different cell phone numbers I have had in the last five years alone, and I simply don’t think it’s possible or worthwhile to put any of that in a phone book anymore. Anyway, I’d be interested to see what Brian Dettmer would do with a stash of phone books. I like his skulpting work with encyclopedias. What’s really interesting about his work are the depths that he creates by overlapping pictures. The picture below reminds me of that moment in the Da Vinchi Code when they piece together the last supper…  Looks like a cool way to tell a story without words:

http://www.designswan.com/archives/book-surgery-incredible-book-carving-art-from-brian-dettmer.html

-Jeff

Leave a Reply

