Image-y books

Well, I have to say that I agree with Lauren on feeling less excited about looking for image only books but alas, I have come upon a couple that are cool and although I feel that everything (well almost) is better with words in it, I have enjoyed looking at the other postings and seeing what is inspiring to other people. I even found a few that I loved amongst the many posts–like that crazy glass book, although I side with Megan on being more inclined to call that art than I am to call it a book.

One artist I found is Ginger Burrell. Many of her books had few words and were very image heavy but one in particular had only images.

Image

 She says of the book, “EYES is a photographic experiment in the expressive potential of a single eye. Each image in this book captures an eye in the moment of expression – joy, fear, concern, puzzlement, happiness.” The blocks are also part of the book–some sort of interactive experience. 

What I am drawn to in this book is the idea behind it. I wondered if you’d be able to tell what emotion the person’s face was displaying if you only saw their eyes. On it’s own, as a mere visual book, I don’t know that I’d really be that interested in this piece other than simply as something to page through once. 

 I guess I’ve felt at a loss in terms of this week’s assignment as far as how to tell a meaningful story with only images. I know that doing so is entirely possible but I’ve really found it difficult which has made me acutely aware of how word reliant I am. 

Oh, one other artist who I found is Judith Hoffman. Two of her books are below and they are pretty cool and fun. Maybe I should just be more playful. ImageImage

Leave a Reply

