Image Books

As I looked for books with only images, I found that I missed seeing words on the pages. I did find some creative and beautiful examples of books in the soft cover styles with which we have been working, but I had a difficult time being as excited about them as I am about books with both words and images. One of the artists upon whom I stumbled during my search was R.D. Burton. His website http://www.rdburtonbooks.com showcases his many styles of books, and I immediately fell in love with his accordian books. I think I was drawn to his work because of his incorporation of maps and the feeling moving something from point A to point B.  His accordian books give a three-dimensional feel to the idea of exploring images, a map that leads the eyes from there to here. Below is a picture of his book titled “Blue Highway” which contains images that would be common sites on a highway. I love the double sided accordian and the image of the map in the base of the book.

Another example of his work is a book called “Wrapped.” The closed and open versions are both shown below, along with a close up of the inside accordian style pages. I love the colors he uses, and the layers of images with cut outs to expose patterns and images. It reminds me of origami or something…more books are pictured at http://www.rdburtonbooks.com/accordion_books.htm.

I also found some amazing flag books on philibiblon.com. The books are winners of a flag book contest. One of my favorites by Hedi Kyle is displayed below. I am not even sure what it is or what its made of, but I think its just beautiful. The rest of the flag book winners can be found at http://www.philobiblon.com/flagbook/index.html. There are some really cool examples of flag books here too, though some incorporate both text and images, they are all worth checking out!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

