Wordless Books

First of all, I got excited when I saw this photo because… it’s a flag book! A week ago, I would not have been able to identify that and instead would have thought, “Gee, that’s a unique way to make a book.”

40 Poems by Barbara Brown

I think what I also like about this book is that it’s entitled “40 Poems” and yet doesn’t have words. I like the idea of poetry being comprised or found in something other than text (although maybe the poets of the world would disagree with me).

I found this photo from http://www.wsg-art.com/frames/frames_Apr06.html.

Then I found this neat book artist named Debra Tomson Williams who makes books out of unusual materials. There are some very neat examples on two kitties’ blog (this is the web address: http://twokitties.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/09/debra-tomson-williams-handmade-books-from-unusual-materials.html). The blogger says, “These books are made from materials we don’t usually associate with reading, but they still tell a story.” One of them which I thought was particularly beautiful and which definitely fit this posting was this one:

glass book by Debra Tomson Williams

The blogger added a little history about this piece: “This book is made from shards of glass found in an ancient, seemingly bottomless trash pile next to our orchard. The glass and tin found here dates back to the 1930s. Tomson Williams has drawn branches on the glass in ink, and bound the book with clear duct tape. It measures about 4″ at the widest part.” Making books out of found objects has definitely been a theme within this class and I love the idea. I’ve definitely tried to embrace it for my own homework assignments (partly as a way to solve the issue of money). I’m not sure I have the mentality yet of seeing this as a book, although I can definitely see it as a piece of art, but maybe that is to come in this class.

Leave a Reply

