What is it with the desert?

So I was really excited about stab binding.  Frankly, I thought it was hideous at first, but in my world, I have a tendency to think so much about hideous things that I start to love them.  It was definitely the form I was most excited to use when getting started on making a soft cover book.  Of course, I ended up making all three forms for practice, and it turned out that I loved my matchbook best, but I still wanted to investigate the stab binding further.  Immediately upon looking into stab binding, I found out that it is often not hideous; rather, it is often lovely and complicated and geometrically intriguing.

So anyway, I was going to get to the desert.  I think I should move there.  Half the art I love comes from people who move to the desert and find themselves flourishing.  Maynard James Keenan has a lot to say about that topic, but that is neither here nor there.  I was really drawn to this lady Val Bembenek’s journals.  I really love handmade paper with plants in it, and I also love the jewels and cutouts she incorporates in her journals.  It got me thinking about wire wrapping in a stab binding.  I wire wrap pamphlet style journals currently, and I’m really excited to start experimenting with this new form.  I think it will take a lot of forethought in order to get the wire through and smooth, or maybe I could just make a really small one with only a few holes.

I did an image search for stab binding in the hopes that I could follow cool trails back to their makers.  I fell in love with this book:

When I went to investigate the source further, I found that it was an awesome blog about someone who dedicated herself to making a book a day.  Delightful!

Leave a Reply

