Softcover books

Source: wired.com via Emily on Pinterest

I did some searching online and stumbled across these beautiful handmade lyric books for Cake’s single, Bound Away. You can click through several photos on the link to see the parts of the process.

Source: wired.com via Emily on Pinterest

The process of making 1,000 handmade lyric books was coordinated by Pam DuLuco and included linoleum block carving, hand spun binding thread run through beeswax from her own beehives, handmade paper from pieces of clothing from the band, and a two-color run on a vandercook letterpress machine. Amazing. I am really interested in how I can use my new knowledge in letterpress. I say knowledge, but really, it’s more just the possibility of knowledge. I took a day class at Baltimore Print Studios and now have access to studio hours at the press. I hope to use some letterpress muscles before the semester is over.

Leave a Reply

