Here is a book made by Jody Alexander out of due-date cards from library books. She writes, “When stitching together the pockets I found myself feeling sorry for the books that were checked out once or twice, and thinking that the slips filled up with dates were somehow gloating. It is not a popularity contest, I would remind them.”

The use of found materials appeals to me, as does the implied nostalgia for the days when libraries were a going concern. Can’t help wondering, though, whether she was ever reprimanded for removing these cards from the books she checked out.

"Date Due" by Jody Alexander

http://www.guildofbookworkers.org/gallery/markingtime/artists/Alexander.html

4 comments
  1. wow! Look at all that thread! This is beautiful! I love that she feels sorry for the books with less stamps. I always did…

    • There were times that I checked out a book on the basis that it didn’t have enough stamps and I wanted to do my part. I love how the edges look feathery or mossy. I like it when books have an organic look, as though they grow in libraries.

    • Yes, I love all of the thread. It looks alive.

  2. they are all from books withdrawn from the library I work in. so, no “reprimanding” went on. i’ve been collecting them for years.

Leave a Reply

