soft cover functional art

The specificity of soft cover limited the online posted options but with a little searching, I found this artist from the Midwest, Krist Schueler http://www.designedlykristi.com/gallery/books

I liked her hanging list book (hanging below) – I like lists and I like that the book becomes wall art and can be functional and displayed. She also designed a shaped pamphlet stitched book that varied from the usual rectangle pamphlet (also below). In her artist statement, Schueler says that her “art imitates my life – it’s an exercise of dichotomy.” She too recreates “new from old.” All the

materials in my match book this week I found in my house; there seems to be a recycling theme in bookmaking.

I also noticed a finer concentration on paper quality in soft cover land – watercolors like the list book, bumpy embedded leaves, flattened bark. As I watching some YouTube stab book tutorials I realized that I didn’t take grain into consideration in building this week’s book.

.

Leave a Reply

