Soft cover goodness

 

Well, I had a hard time finding soft cover books that I loved for some reason. Maybe because most of the books I looked at were journal-esque and I’m really picky about the books that I use for journals. They could be the most stunning book in the world but if they aren’t functional to write in (i.e. they don’t stay open very easily, or the textured pages don’t feel good to write on, I usually think “Beautiful but not practical” and don’t give it a second thought.

That said, I did find a couple that I thought were both beautiful and that looked to pass my silly standards.   http://www.etsy.com/listing/79435576/journal-steampunk-red-rustic-diary-or?ref=cat2_gallery_26 This one has a leather cover, which I love and the pages are made of card stock that has been treated with something to change their texture. They look like they would feel good and   still be nice to write on. 

The other one is here http://www.etsy.com/listing/80493578/hand-bound-art-book-with-handmade-paper?ref=correlated_featured. It has some features that I don’t like, but I love the letter press on the dedication page and the cover is distressed and absolutely beautiful.

I haven’t figured out how to post pics on here, hence the links but I will for next time!

Danielle A

2 comments
  1. zwiebeck said:

    Danielle, you crack me up with your silly standards. I love the last example you posted. The cover is gorgeous and I really like the letter press leaf. A few of my examples were also on etsy, some of them made with wood which made me think of you! If you haven’t seen them, check out the links in my post. You could totally do that!

  2. Laura said:

    Thanks for complimenting my journal!

Leave a Reply

