Pop-Up Book Art

I have always loved pop-up books.  Within the last year or so, I discovered book art (the art of cutting books to create three dimensional dioramas).  After looking at countless websites and photos, I decided to use the work of Su Blackwell as a favorite of mine.

Her website is http://www.sublackwell.co.uk/

She is a British artist who lives and works in London.  In her own words, “I often work within the realm of fairy-tales and folk-lore.  I began making a series of book-sculpture, cutting-out images from old books to create three-dimensional dioramas, and displaying them inside wooden boxes.”

She also does her art commercially, sometimes on a grand scale like this one at New Town Plaza, Sha Tim, Hong Kong.

I’m hoping that with my X-acto knife and some old books, I might be able to create something three dimensional.  We’ll see.

3 comments
  1. rwooley12 said:

    These pop-ups are beautiful! I’d love to learn how to do that.

  2. Love!! The flowers growing, so dynamic, such movement in stillness. Marie, take a look at Joy Campbell’s work. Nice to hear that we both love pop up!

Leave a Reply

