inspirations…

I also turned to Google for some answers concerning book artists and their work and I was amazed not only by the number of accomplished and well-known book artists, but the exquisite caliber of their work and attention to detail. I have always considered literature to be on par with visual art, but to see such use of books as mediums was stunning.

The first book artist I took a closer look at was Su Blackwell who resides in South London. You can find photos from her portfolio and the transcript of a recent interview about her background and inspirations here. I was impressed with her whimsical approach,  her artistic journey,  as well as the philosophy behind her art. One thing that stood out to me was this statement:

”I often work within the realm of fairy-tales and folk-lore…I tend to lean towards young-girl characters, placing them in haunting, fragile settings, expressing the vulnerability of childhood, while also conveying a sense of childhood anxiety and wonder. There is a quiet melancholy in the work, depicted in the material used, and choice of subtle colour.”

            Su shared some of her own artistic inspirations in the above interview, so of course I had to look into them as well. Although they were each profound in their own way, the one that stands out to me as my favorite overall would be Jonathan Callan from Manchester, England. Apparently he is pretty widely acclaimed, but if you take a look at his work it’s obvious why. He definitely makes me want to try something like this, (on a smaller scale for now of course). I love his use of color and that element of abandon that comes with this type of abstract art. Both Blackwell and Callan will serve as sources of inspiration this semester and I’m excited to see what I can create!

Leave a Reply

