Book Inspiration

Thank you MEGAN for posting that link!!

I also do not have a lot of experience with specific book makers so Megan’s link and other links and names posted by classmates have been helpful to me in my search for inspiration. In the last several books I have made, I have incorporated physical materials that add texture, weight and symbolism. Buttons, small pins for fastening, broken glass and canvas are some of the materials I have incorporated. I am eager to explore this more. That is why I was thrilled when I found Karen Hatzigeorgiou’s website http://karenswhimsy.com/found-object-art.htm. She has detailed explanations of the concepts and processes of her book designs, complete with images and instructions. The books I looked at included objects like birds nests and broken dolls. Karen also altered books that were originally designed in a more conventional way; she redesigns the pages and the overall book to reflect the content as she interprets it! I was definitely inspired by Karen’s use of large objects in books, and I am looking forward to exploring this further.

I was also inspired by Carol Barton’s webpage http://www.popularkinetics.com/ which is all about making pop-up books and physically engaging books. Carol’s style and simple to follow instructions for making pop-ups sweetly compliment my interest of incorporating more physical materials into my books. Not only will I experiment with new materials, but with making them jump off the page. The realization that this is even possible is exremely exciting and inspiring to me.

The third person I was inspired by in my search was Laura Davidson, who does more traditional style books but many of them with a twist. She includes objects found in nature, paints with ink, presses paper between glass and wood, and even used a silver necklace chain to bind a miniature book. The little creative touches to a more traditional style of binding are beautiful and subtle.  Her message not as loud or boisterous as the full birds nests or broken dolls of Kathy’s books, but Laura’s books gave me a more quieter, more meditative feeling than the other book makers pieces. And I think that all of us could use a little more quiet in our minds and our lives.

After looking at examples of works by these three women, all of whom have vast differences in style and execution, I ultimately feel inspired to imagine the book first, and the content second and see where that takes me. Looking forward to exploring more book makers works and making my own.

Lauren Beck

1 comment
  1. kimberleylynne said:

    Ah! Karen Hatzigeorgiou’s Broken Doll Series is magnificent, rich with a beauty of texture and archetype that is both gorgeous and disturbing (the scary elk angels!). I used to feel silly for keeping my old dolls and now I feel justified. Some of them might make it into a book this semester.

Leave a Reply

