book art inspiration

As You Like It springs to life

I agree with Heather. There is so much richness in book artistry that I find it hard to single out one.

 
The book art that I feel resembles my work is layered with cut-outs and collaged images with a sense of depth. When scouting through book art examples, the diorama work or Joy Campbell made me gasp. The above embedded photo is tiny but can be better viewed at http://www.joymcampbellbookartist.com I love the sense of characters rising out of the terraced pages with magical dimension. Campbell creates altered books in mixed media “to transform an ordinary well-worn loved book into a dynamic sculptural form that alters its very soul.” Esthetically and environmentally, I like the idea of recycling a book (particularly a well-loved one) and re-imagining it in a different shape; I see a visit to The Book Thing in my future. Campbell’s work seems more sculptural than functional. It’s hard to tell from photographs but it looks like her work is to be viewed and not so much read.
 
I might attempt a pop-up diorama; I loved pop-up books and museum dioramas as a kid. I explored cut-out windows in an Experimental Form project about Clara Barton and liked the partial erasure-esque reveal of image and text and the sense of looking into the past or into a secret past.
That deconstruction of an existing book and re-shaping it embraces my fondness of cutting, pasting, carving, collaging, sketching, painting, photographing and sculpting.
 
2 comments
  1. rockonmd said:

    Wow – I LOVE the mixed media concept, and especially the transformation of a much loved book into a new form (functional or not, the photos in the link your provided are gorgeous). There are books that we’ve all loved, and read and re-read to the point of raggedness. I can think of no better tribute to those books than to transform them into an artistic display that pays homage to its content (and what a cool display/conversation piece it would be too!).

  2. Meredith said:

    What beautiful work Campbell is doing! I love the way she pushes the books to go beyond that traditional space, and I love your thoughts on the story quite literally emerging from the book.

    If you like Campbell’s work, you might also check out Andrea Deszo. She works largely in tunnel books, but I love her for similar reasons–work that moves and breaths and takes up lots of space. Here’s her site: http://andreadezso.com/

    I’d also recommend checking out some of the work from the Penland School of Crafts–their book artists are AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

